Getting ready for 2010 – The Soft Pack


Formerly known as the Muslims, the Soft Pack have been steadily rising in profile over the last year or so, and are now getting ready to release their debut, self-titled on February 1, 2010.

The band’s rise seems to have been fairly quick -and no doubt, alas they will be derided in some quarters as a hipster band. They could well be this years The Shins -and I mean that as a compliment -whether or not they have something like the equivalent of being featured in Garden State to help them on their way. I sincerely hope they do well.

The band’s line-up has only come together this year, but they are now vocalist Matt Lamkin, guitarist Matty McLoughlin, David Lantzman on bass and drummer Brian Hill. They play a no-messing indie rock that gets slowly more and more addictive with every hearing. They’ve played with the likes of Franz Ferdinand and The Breeders, which can have done their profile no harm whatsoever.

The tracklisting for the forthcoming album is:

1. C’mon
2. Down on Loving
3. Answer to Yourself
4. Move Along
5. Pull Out
6. More or Less
7. Tides of Time
8. Flammable
9. Mexico
10. Parasites

Check out these free downloads and let me know what you think!

The Soft Pack -‘C’mon.’ mp3

The Soft Pack -‘Answer to yourself.’ mp3

For more legal Soft Pack mp3s go here

The Soft Pack’s website/The Soft Pack’s myspace

The Soft Pack will be coming to the UK in February 2010; including dates in Scotland. Check the myspace for more details.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.