The return of Massive Attack


February 8 will see the release of Massive Attack’s first studio album in seven years. Heligoland. It’s the band’s fifth album. Tellingly, 3D and Daddy G’s myspace page says ‘If a thing’s worth doing, it’s worth doing slowly.’ Having worked with a number of guest vocalists in the past, including Sinead O’Connor, Elizabeth Fraser, Tracey Thorn and Shara nelson, this album features the return of long-time collaborator Horace Andy, as well as Damon Albarn, Hope Sandoval, Martina Topley-Bird, Guy Garvey and Tunde Adebimpe.

The tracklisting is as follows:

1. Pray For Rain
2. Babel
3. Splitting The Atom
4. Girl I Love You
5. Psyche
6. Flat Of The Blade
7. Paradise Circus
8. Rush Minute
9. Saturday Come Slow
10. Atlas Air

‘Splitting The Atom’ and ‘Pray For Rain’ are streaming on the band’s myspace page.

The video for the Hope Sandoval featuring ‘Paradise Circus’ can be seen here. This is, as they say NSFW (Not Safe For Work). You have been warned…Not quite as extreme as ‘Plug Me In’ by Add N to (X) but not far off it.

Meanwhile this remix has been made available for free:

Massive Attack featuring Horace Andy – ‘Girl I Love You (She Is Danger remix)’ mp3

Massive Attack website/Massive Attack myspace

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.