The return of Dead Can Dance


For a label that has given so many extraordinary bands over the years, the duo of Lisa Gerrard and Brendan Perry-better known as Dead Can Dance- couldn’t have been signed to anyone else other than 4AD in the 1980s. Often lumped in with the goth scene, the duo might have been gothic sounding, but they were beyond pop music. Not in a snobby way, but they seemed to be from another time, another place altogether. Were they folk, modern classical or just simply unclassifiable?

After their last album, 1996’s Spiritchaser, the pair went their separate ways, but continued to work on music. Gerrard’s most high profile work to date is probably the soundtrack to the Russell Crowe film Gladiator. It would be nice to hope that there were folk who were intrigued and delighted enough by that album to go and investigate further…

They are now back working together, and signed to PIAS, and about to release their first album in sixteen years, Anastasis. the tracklisting to which is as follows:


1. Children Of The Sun
2. Anabasis
3. Agape
4. Amnesia
5. Kiko
6. Opium
7. Return Of The She-King
8. All In Good Time

Amnesia has been made available as a free track to download. ON the basis of this alone, it’s time to start getting very excited very soon…

Stream the track here

Download the track, free and legally, below

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.