Presenting…Golden Void


Another night, a way overcrowded inbox with more bloody submissions to deal with than I can bear or cope with, never mind actually listen to. One of them is from the very nice man at Thrill Jockey. KABLAM! Just one blast of Golden Void is like putting your fingers in a wall socket. In a pleasant way, of course.

Very recently signed to Thrill Jockey, San Francisco’s Golden Void are vocalist/guitarist Isaiah Mitchell, organ player Camilla Saufley, bassist Aaron Morgan and drummer/moog Justin Pinkerton. If you think Tame Impala’s ‘Elephant’ is good, the first track from the album ‘Golden Void’ blows it out of the water. Free to download below, this will quite possibly make your eyeballs melt (your ears will already have gone intergalactic).

Their self-titled debut album, which reportedly mixes ‘classic rock, blues and psych in their own unique style’ was recorded with with Phil Manley, who has also worked with the likes of Trans Am and The Fucking Champs, at Lucky Cat Studios in San Francisco. To these ears it’s thrillingly primal, think prime Black Sabbath with extra psychedelics and stoner links…

The album, artwork below, is released on November 12.


The tracklisting is as follows:

1. Art of Invading
2. Virtue
3. Jetsun Dolma
4. Badlands
5. Shady Grove
6. The Curve
7. Atlantis

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.