Presenting…Courtney Barnett

Courtney Barnett

One of the most anticipated debut albums of this year is Courtney Barnett’s wonderfully titled Sometimes I Sit And Think, And Sometimes I Just Sit. Two very different tracks have been previewed from the Australian’s album, which you can watch below.

‘Pedestrian At Best’ has a weird and wonderful video, and the song grabs you and thrills in a way I recall when I first heard The Breeders’ ‘Cannonball’ all those years ago…

Meanwhile, ‘Depreston’ is an altogether different (but just as good) kettle of fish:

The tracklisting for the album is as follows:

1. Elevator Operator
2. Pedestrian at Best
3. An Illustration of Loneliness (Sleepless in NY)
4. Small Poppies
5. Depreston
6. Aqua Profunda!
7. Dead Fox
8. Nobody Really Cares if You Don’t Go to the Party
9. Debbie Downer
10. Kim’s Caravan
11. Boxing Day Blues

I may have been late to the party, but if you are too, then check out her earlier track ‘Avant Gardener’ with what I believe may well be the world’s first kooky tennis music video.

2 thoughts on “Presenting…Courtney Barnett

  1. She played ‘Depreston’ and a couple more from the new LP when I saw her last Summer. Looking forward to the album and have tickets in the bag to see her again in April.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.