New from Courtney Barnett

Having topped the 17 Seconds Festive Fifty in 2015 with ‘Pedestrian At Best‘, Courtney Barnett is due to release her second solo album Tell Me How You Really Feel on May 18.

The most recent track ‘City Looks Pretty’ will be available as a 12″ single on Record Store Day this Saturday.

The two tracks already unveiled are the reflective ‘Need A Little Time’ and the rather uncompromising ‘Nameless, Faceless.’

You can order the album from your local independent record store or her Bandcamp page, and she will also be touring for much of the year. She plays a Scottish date at Glasgow Barrowlands on June 2.

17 Seconds Festive 50 2015

Courtney Barnett

1. Courtney Barnett ‘Pedestrian At Best.’
2. Florence and the machine ‘What Kind Of Man.’
3. Libertines ‘Gunga Din.’
4. Chvrches ‘Leave A Trace.’
5. Go! Team ‘The Scene Between.’
6. Blur ‘Go Out.’
7. Pale Honey ‘Youth.’
8. My Morning Jacket ‘Big Decisions.’
9. Weeknd ‘Earned It.’
10. Sleater-Kinney ‘Bury our Friends.’
11. Mark Ronson featuring Bruno Mars ‘Uptown Funk.’
12. Women’s Hour ‘Dancing In The Dark.’
13. Chemical Brothers ‘Go.’
14. David Bowie ‘Black star.’
15. Julia Holter ‘Feel You.’
16. Kurt Vile ‘Pretty Pimpin’.’
17. Eagles Of Death Metal ‘Save A Prayer.’
18. Bjork ‘Stonemilker.’
19. Slow Riot ‘City Of Culture.’
20. Django Django ‘First Light.’
21. Midas Fall ‘Tramadol Baby.’
22. Mercury Rev ‘Central Park East.’
23. All We Are ‘Ebb/Flow.’
24. Pharrell Williams ‘Freedom.’
25. Zohara ‘Bass & drum.’
26. John Grant featuring Tracy Thorn ‘Disappointing.’
27. 1975 ‘Love Me.’
28. Low ‘What Part Of Me.’
29. Chvrches ‘Never Ending Circles.’
30. Kendrick Lamar ‘King Kunta.’
31. New Order ‘Restless.’
32. Lana Del Rey ‘High By The Beach.’
33. Wavves ‘Heavy Metal Detox.’
34. Jamie XX featuring Romy ‘Loud Places.’
35. Crystal Castles ‘Deicide.’
36. Sia ‘Alive.’
37. Adele ‘Hello.’
38. Foals ‘what Went Down.’
39. Sufjan Stevens ‘No Shadow In The Shade Of The Cross.’
40. Mercury Rev ‘Queen Of Swarms.’
41. Maccabees ‘Marks To Prove It.’
42. Sam Smith ‘The Writing’s On The Wall.’
43. Suede ‘Outsiders.’
44. Beirut ‘No No No.’
45. Skepta ‘Shut Down.’
46. Yo La Tengo ‘Friday I’m In Love.’
47. Rihanna, Kanye West and Paul McCartney ‘FourFiveSeconds.’
48. LA Priest ‘Learning To Love.’
49. FKA Twigs ‘Figure 8.’
50. Purity Ring ‘Begin Again.’

And if you haven’t heard (m)any of these songs, here’s a handily put together playlist which features all bar one of the songs (Woman’s Hour’s ‘Dancing In The Dark’ which you can stream here)

Lest we forget…
2014 St. Vincent ‘Digital Witness.’
2013 Daft Punk ‘Get Lucky.’
2012 Grimes ‘Genesis.’
2011 Hiatus featuring Linton Kwesi Johnson ‘Insurrection.’
2010 eagleowl ‘No Conjunction.’
2009 Peter Parker ‘Swallow The Rockets.’
2008 Wedding Present ‘The Trouble With Men.’
2007 Emma Pollock ‘Adrenaline.’
2006 Long Blondes ‘Weekend Without Make-up.’

Stream Courtney Barnett’s debut album

Courtney Barnett

It can be frustrating when a hotly tipped artist’s debut arrives and you are left scratching your ahead about what exactly all the fuss is about. (I grant you that it’s something of a first world problem.) However Courtney Barnett’s debut album Sometimes I Sit And Think And Sometimes I Just Sit is out next week and to these ears it’s absolutely brilliant. Yes, there are hints of a lot of cool tars from the past forty or so years (Kim Gordon, Patti Smith, PJ Harvey, Kim Deal in her many guises to name but a few) but there is something that is distinctly her. This is an extremely strong debut album, which I am willing to bet will appear in the end of year lists, and hopefully those filled in by the punters not just those filed by the critics.

She has made it available to stream in its entirety a week before its release (March 23 in the UK), so take the time to listen to it, and play it loud.

And if you enjoy that – and I hope you will – check out her two earlier EPs, which were released together The Double EP: A Sea Of Split Peas which show that the critics who praised it then were definitely right.


Presenting…Courtney Barnett

Courtney Barnett

One of the most anticipated debut albums of this year is Courtney Barnett’s wonderfully titled Sometimes I Sit And Think, And Sometimes I Just Sit. Two very different tracks have been previewed from the Australian’s album, which you can watch below.

‘Pedestrian At Best’ has a weird and wonderful video, and the song grabs you and thrills in a way I recall when I first heard The Breeders’ ‘Cannonball’ all those years ago…

Meanwhile, ‘Depreston’ is an altogether different (but just as good) kettle of fish:

The tracklisting for the album is as follows:

1. Elevator Operator
2. Pedestrian at Best
3. An Illustration of Loneliness (Sleepless in NY)
4. Small Poppies
5. Depreston
6. Aqua Profunda!
7. Dead Fox
8. Nobody Really Cares if You Don’t Go to the Party
9. Debbie Downer
10. Kim’s Caravan
11. Boxing Day Blues

I may have been late to the party, but if you are too, then check out her earlier track ‘Avant Gardener’ with what I believe may well be the world’s first kooky tennis music video.