The return of The National

It’s funny, considering that I was fairly immune to the charms of The National for a long time, I was rather pleased when an email from 4AD dropped into my inbox early this morning. Much of that is no doubt to do with just how brilliant Trouble Will Find Me was.

So yes, there is a new album from the National, their seventh, coming out on September 8. It’s entitled Sleep Well Beast and the tracklisting is as follows:

  1. Nobody Else Will Be There
  2. Day I Die
  3. Walk It Back
  4. The System Only Dreams in Total Darkness
  5. Born to Beg
  6. Turtleneck
  7. Empire Line
  8. I’ll Still Destroy You
  9. Guilty Party
  10. Carin at the Liquor Store
  11. Dark Side of the Gym
  12. Sleep Well Beast

The first track to be released from the album is ‘The System Only Dreams In Total Darkness’ and you can watch the video below: