A song for today #46: Deerhoof featuring Awkwafina

I wrote at the end of June about how much I was looking forward to the release of the new Deerhoof album, and posted the excellent ‘I Will Spite Survive.’ 

Things have been a bit up and down these past few months, and it’s taken me a few weeks to get around to posting the next track to be unveiled from Mountain Moves, due out on September 8.

It’s a bit of a different beast, but just as good as its predecessor.

Of  ‘…Dystopic Creation’ the band said in a statement: ‘ “In the span of 10 short days last April, Prince passed away, and Bill Clinton shouted down a small group of black women who dared question the morality of 90s legislation with which he ushered in the era of unprecedented mass incarceration that continues to this day. Something about the random concurrence of Prince’s glowing obituaries and Clinton’s elitist intimidation tactics seemed to point at an absurd contradiction at the heart of America’s treatment of its citizens of color. Fortunately a favorite writer, The Guardian’s great Steven W. Thrasher, helped make sense of these events in his crucial commentaries: “Prince broke all the rules about what black American men should be” and “How dare Bill Clinton shout over Black Lives Matter protesters?”

Now over a year has passed. Many Americans, suddenly in search of strategies for surviving state repression, are turning away from witless neoliberal politicians who exploit fear to amass more power for themselves, and towards those vulnerable communities who have responded to a history of violence not with submission, but with humor, creativity, anger, and love. The song we are debuting today grew out of these observations. Strictly speaking it is not the first Awkwafina-Deerhoof collaboration, as both Satomi and Greg have guested on “My Vag” onstage. But this call-and-response is our first co-composition. Enjoy!”

A song for today #45: Deerhoof feat Jenn Wasner

I’m surprised to discover that apparently in nearly eleven years (count ’em!) of writing this blog, I appear not to have covered Deerhoof, although their track ‘Life Is Suffering’ did make last year’s Festive Fifty. The band are shortly to release their new album Mountain Moves, on September 8.

The first track to be released is the politically charged ‘I Will Spite Survive’ which features vocals from Wye Oak’s Jenn Wasner. ‘Sleep at night, if you can stay awake,’ the band reflect. It would be nice to think they’ll reach new fans with this album. (which I am very excited for!)

The track can be streamed below:

The tracklisting is as follows:

1. “Slow Motion Detonation” (feat. Juana Molina)
2. “Con Sordino”
3. “I Will Spite Survive” (feat. Jenn Wasner)
4. “Come Down Here and Say That” (feat. Lætitia Sadier)
5. “Gracias a la Vida” (Violeta Parra cover)
6. “Begin Countdown”
7. “Your Dystopic Creation Doesn’t Fear You” (feat. Awkwafina)
8. “Ay That’s Me”
9. “Palace of the Governors”
10. “Singalong Junk” (feat. Xenia Rubinos)
11. “Mountain Moves” (feat. Matana Roberts)
12. “Freedom Highway” (The Staple Singers cover)
13. “Sea Moves” (feat. Chad Popple & Devin Hoff)
14. “Kokoye”
15. “Small Axe” (Bob Marley cover)