A song for today #2


Having first featured Woman’s Hour at the beginning of 2013, it’s a pleasure to see how they have risen over the last couple of years.

April 18 sees the annual Record Store Day, and Woman’s Hour will be releasing a limited 12″ single of their cover version of Bruce Springsteen’s ‘Dancing In The Dark.’ It’s a beautiful reworking, stripped down and utterly beautiful. It’s limited to 500 copies, so you will need to act quickly on the day. (And if you come across anyone buying copies purely to flog on the internet, give them an extra-hard stare from me.)

Hopefully this will get a widespread release, because it’s a beautiful reworking of a classic tune (and it’s just a little scary to realise the original is now over thirty years old…)

The Continuing Story of Woman’s Hour


Without wishing to sound smug about it, it’s great when a band you have tipped at an early stage start to make serious inroads. About eighteen months ago, I did one of my Presenting… features on new bands, and in this case, it was Woman’s Hour.

Fast forward eighteen months and the band are to release their debut album Conversations on Secretly Canadian on July 21.

The tracklisting for the album is as follows:

1. Unbroken Sequence
2. Conversations
3. To the End
4. Darkest Place
5. In Stillness We Remain
6. Our Love Has No Rhythm
7. Her Ghost
8. Two Sides of You
9. Devotion
10. Reflections
11. Day That Needs Defending

Considering how little was known about them when they first appeared, they now come across as a band who make striking videos and eye-catching artwork. Check out the videos available so far…

A number of the songs from the forthcoming album can be streamed over at their website

Their cover version of Bruce Springsteen’s ‘Dancing In The Dark’ is gorgeous, too:

Presenting…Woman’s Hour


Another example of a tune I have picked up on as a result of that very old-fashioned method of finding out about new music, otherwise known as hearing about it on the radio.

This got played on Mary Ann Hobbs’ Breakfast Show on 6Music this morning. Even the lady herself admitted that details about the band were fairly scarce, but this much I can tell you (and you could probably find out for your good selves with not much time spent using Google).

They originally hail from Kendal in Cumbria (where Mrs. 17 Seconds also comes from) and are now based in London. They are a four piece, who formed in 2011. The band consists of siblings Fiona Jane (vocals) and William (guitar), along with Nick (bass) and Josh (keyboards). Their song’ Our Love Has No Rhythm’ is utterly lovely. They are supposed to be releasing a new 12″ single on Parlour Records this year.

Supposedly you can downlaod the single for free…I’m still trying to figure out how to do that…but I would happily buy it. You should, too.