The return of The Libertines


It’s been eleven years – but the Libertines are back! All four members as we knew them and about to unleash their third album Anthems For Doomed Youth.

The album’s out on September 4 and the tracklisting is as follows:

1. Barbarians
2. Gunga Din
3. Fame and Fortune
4. Anthem for Doomed Youth
5. Heart of the Matter
6. Belly of the Beast
7. Iceman
8. You’re My Waterloo
9. Fury of Chonburi
10. The Milkman’s Horse
11. Glasgow Coma Scale Blues
12. Dead for Love

The Bonus tracks are
1. Love on the Dole
2. Bucket Shop
3. Lust of the Libertines
4. 7 Deadly Sins

The first track to hear (not available to download yet as far as I can see) is the awesome ‘Gunga Din.’

The return of Carl Barât


Having been part of both the Libertines and the Dirty Perry Things in the last decade, and seen sights that would no doubt make many people’s eyespop out of their sockets, Carl Barât is now striking out as a solo artist, and writer.

He will release his eponymous debut solo album on 4th October via his own imprint Arcady Records (issued through PIAS). The first single ‘Run With The Boys’ will be released the same day.

I’m enjoying this video, which seems like a film that oughta have Michael Caine in it, and feels like it should have been scripted by Martin Amis. That’s meant as a compliment, by the way.

Carl Barât -‘Run With The Boys’

Not only that but he has written his first book ‘Threepenny Memoir’ published by Harper Collins on 30th September, which details his time in The Libertines.

Good to have him back.

Update: stream the album below: