Album Review – Bon Iver


Bon Iver -‘Bon Iver’ (4AD)

Justin Vernon’s debut album For Emma, Forever Ago became both a critical and commercial hit when it was released in 2008. A start and beautful record (boy loses girl but certainly not talent), how to follow it up? Well, by not making it feel that the sophomore album has to be part two, for starters.

See, what Vernon has managed to do is to create a record that’s a lovely as its predecessor but where that album was stripped down, this album has gorgeous textures. Epic album opener ‘Perth’ sets the tone, building from quiet beginnings into something loud and beautiful. On paper (given what the last album was like), maybe it shouldn’t work. Yet the whole album does – even the slightly eighties keyboard sounds on album closer ‘Beth/Rest’ which should seem awful somehow feels rather lovely. Other album highlights include ‘Wash’ and ‘Lisbon, OH’ but the entire album works as a whole.

Lightning has most definitely struck twice. A difficult second album? Not to these ears…

The return of Bon Iver


Following on from the rather fine For Emma, Forever Ago and the excellent Blood Bank EP, Bon Iver return with their (his?) sophomore album, entitled simply Bon Iver.

The album will be released on June 20, and this is the first single to be released from it, entitled ‘Calgary.’ This will get a physical release on 12″ on July 4.

You can stream it below – and if you sign up below, you can get a free download of the track.

The album tracklisting is as follows:

1. Perth

2. Minnesota, WI

3. Holocene

4. Towers

5. Michicant

6. Hinnom, TX

7. Wash.

8. Calgary

9. Lisbon, OH

10. Beth/Rest

…and just for good measure: