Fresh from Young Fathers

When you’ve championed a band as long as I’ve been championing Young Fathers, it’s great when they are having hit albums, and in the next few weeks, about to headline their biggest show yet, at London’s Brixton Academy! Respect.

This year’s Cocoa Sugar album, their third, may well be their best album yet, and from the sessions that produced that album, today the previously unheard ‘Cocoa Sugar’ with the David Wrench remix of the album track ‘Border Girl.’ This is a very good thing.

Which reminds me; I must start on my albums and tracks of the year…

Young Fathers topped my annual Festive Fifty with this track last year:

Track of the day #52: Young Fathers

Young Fathers photographed by Julia Noni.

It’s only just over a week until the third Young Fathers album, Young Sugar, is released. Ahead of it, the band have unveiled a third track from the album, entitled ‘Toy.’ It rushes along with the same infectious urgency as ‘Only God Knows’  and yet sounds very little like it. It’s one of the most anticipated albums of the year around 17 Seconds Towers, so here is a taster.


Young Fathers – new song and album!

Young Fathers picture credit: Julia Noni

Long-term 17 Seconds favourites, Young Fathers, have announced their third album.

Entitled Cocoa Sugar, the album will be released on March 9 on Ninja Tune. Following on from ‘Lord’ which was released towards the end of last year, the band have released another track from the album ‘In My View.’

The band will be touring – dates can be found here on their website, including a date at Glasgow’s Barrowlands and theor biggest headline gig to date at London’s Roundhouse.

The album’s tracklisting is as follows:

1. See How

2. Fee Fi

3. In My View.

4. Turn

5. Lord

6. Tremolo.

7. Wow

8. Border Girl

9. Holy Ghost

10. Wire

11. Toy

12. Picking You

…and just for completeness sake:

17 Seconds Festive Fifty 2017

  1. Young Fathers ‘Only God Knows.’
  2. Lana Del Rey ‘Love.’
  3. Stormzy ‘Big For Your Boots.’
  4. Meursault ‘Klopfgeist.’
  5. Deerhoof feat Jenn Wasner ‘I Will Spite Survive.’
  6. Dave ‘Question Time.’
  7. Breeders ‘Wait In The Car.’
  8. Siobhan Wilson ‘Whatever Helps.’
  9. Playing House ‘Jelly Legs.’
  10. Attic Choir ‘shHAarp.’
  11. National ‘The System Only Dreams In Total Darkness.’
  12. Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds ‘Holy Mountain.’
  13. Jammz ‘Oh Please.’
  14. Meursault ‘I Will Kill Again.’
  15. Mogwai ‘Party In The Dark.’
  16. Belle & Sebastian ‘I’ll Be Your Pilot.’
  17. Wolf Alice ‘Yuk Foo.’
  18. Mark Lanegan ‘Nocturne.’
  19. Loyle Carner ‘No CD.’
  20. Go! Team ‘Semicircle Song.’
  21. Cigarettes After Sex ‘K.’
  22. Sparks ‘Edith Piaf (Said It Better).’
  23. U.S. Girls ‘Mad As Hell.’
  24. Future Islands ‘Ran.’
  25. Erasure ‘Love You To The Sky.’
  26. Mogwai ‘Coolverine.’
  27. LCD Soundsystem ‘Call The Police.’
  28. Arcade Fire ‘Everything Now.’
  29. Alvvays ‘In Undertow.’
  30. Ice Cube ‘Good Cop, Bad Cop.’
  31. Lana Del Rey featuring The Weeknd ‘Lust For Life.’
  32. Lorde ‘Green Light.’
  33. Gold Filter ‘Dust.’
  34. Chilly Gonzalez & Jarvis Cocker ‘Tearjerker.’
  35. LCD Soundsystem ‘American Dream.’
  36. Spook School ‘Less Than Perfect.’
  37. Parcels ‘Overnight.’
  38. Deerhoof featuring Awkwafina ‘Your Dystopic Creation Doesn’t Fear You.’
  39. Belle & Sebastian ‘We Were Beautiful.’
  40. Cigarettes After Sex ‘Each Time You Fall In Love.’
  41. London Grammar ‘Rooting For You.’
  42. Big Shaq ‘Man’s Not Hot.’
  43. Morrissey ‘Jacky’s Only Happy When She’s On the Stage.’
  44. Young Fathers ‘Lord.’
  45. Jesus & Mary Chain ‘Amputation.’
  46. Pale Honey ‘Why Do I Always Feel This Way?’
  47. Alvvays ‘Dreams Tonite.’
  48. Depeche Mode ‘Where The Revolution?’
  49. Pale Waves ‘There’s A Honey.’
  50. Migos featuring Lil Uzi Vert ‘Bad And Boujee.’

Lest we forget

2016 Christine and the Queens ‘Tilted.’

2015 Courtney Barnett ‘Pedestrian At Best.’

2014 St. Vincent ‘Digital Witness.’

2013 Daft Punk ‘Get Lucky.’

2012 Grimes ‘Genesis.’ 

2011 Hiatus featuring Linton Kwesi Johnson ‘Insurrection.’

2010 eagleowl ‘No Conjunction.’

2009 Peter Parker ‘Swallow the Rockets.’

2008 Wedding Present ‘The Trouble With Men.’

2007 Emma Pollock ‘Adrenaline.’

2006 Long Blondes ‘Weekend Without Make-Up.’


Film Review: T2: Trainspotting

I’m still awed by just how utterly fantastic T2 Trainspotting is – and I watched it five days ago. Check out my review over on God Is In The TV.

This is the song that plays over the end credits – I can’t get enough of this track at the moment. Hopefully this track will prove to be one of this year’s defining tracks in much the same way that Underworld’s ‘Born Slippy (Nuxx)’ was in 1996, the year of the original Trainspotting film.

A song for today #38: Young Fathers

I’ve long-championed Young Fathers on this blog, first writing about the Edinburgh Hi-Hop trio back in 2010, and being utterly delighted to see them win music awards and have two hit albums.

Their profile is set to rise even higher with their presence on the soundtrack to the jaw-droppingly brilliant T2: Trainspotting. Along with pretty much everyone in Edinburgh I went to see it this weekend, and twas brillig, as Lewis Carroll might have said. Young Fathers have several tracks on the soundtrack, including the fabulous ‘Only God Knows’ which plays over the end credits. It’s credited as featuring the Leith Congregational Choir.

So turn it up, and give your neighbours a treat. And if you haven’t seen them live yet…tusk, tusk.


The continued rise of Young Fathers


I’ve featured Edinburgh’s Young Fathers on 17 Seconds before. Now it seems that the band’s profile is set to rise even higher with the news that they have signed to Anticon, the home of Why? and Doseone, amongst others.

Kayus Bankole, Graham Hastings, and Alloysious Massaquoi have been making music together since they were fourteen. Though they share a hometown with Stanley Odd, their music and overall sound is way different. Comparisons have been made with the Daisy AGe rappers as much as post-rockers. Previous singles include ‘Straight Back On It,’ ‘Fever’s Worse’ and ‘Automatic.’

Last year’s Tape One EP will be re-released as the band’s first release on Anticon. This track is taken from that EP…enjoy.

Young Fathers – “Deadline” from anticon. on Vimeo.

Young Fathers are on tour next week:

8 Oct Hove Old Market
9 Oct London Electric Ballroom
10 Oct Manchester Central Methodist Church
11 Oct Bristol Fleece
12 Oct Glasgow SWG3
13 Oct Oxford The Bullingdon

Happy New Year


A new year, a new decade (as far as I’m concerned) and what I will continue to be another year of great stuff on this blog and beyond.

Seem to have woken up on a bit of a UK Hip-Hop tip today, so why not let’s start with this excellent number from 2009, a scottish act, no less…

Stanley Odd -‘The Numbness.’ mp3

And another Scottish act that I’m kicking myself for not covering much before:

Young Fathers -‘Straight Back On It (extended).’ mp3

This track I’ve posted before, but I figure it belongs here too…

Rustie -‘Mic of the year.’ mp3

And for old time’s sake…

M/A/R/R/S -‘Pump Up The Volume.’ mp3

Simon Harris -‘Bass (How Low Can You Go?).’ mp3